//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Home Reno

I just moved into a small apartment and and hoping to upgrade the drab 80s rental into a faboulus place for me, my boyfriend and our roommate. The kitchen is my first area of attack as the landlord has agreed to replace the flooring.

Since our last place, where I was not allowed to paint or anything, I have been fretting the inevitable clean up of the wall beside the stove. The new place is similar in that there is no backsplash, however their decorating rules are much more leniant. I am looking for backsplash ideas that are cheap and easily removable when we decide to move. Ikea has these wall pannels that attach with rails that are easily cleaned while Smart tiles have stick on tiling that can be removed by a hair dryer. Smart when its going to be next to a heat source? Not so sure, I will update as my research continues.

Problem number two I am faced with baseboard heaters under pretty much every window. This wouldn’t be such a big deal if I owned blinds, but I do not. The apartment has more windows then our three bedroom townhouse did, and considerably less space. Blinds to go or goodwill might soon be receiving some buisness.

Finally the extremly narrow front hall/ stairway without a closet is fast becomming a pain in the butt. The previous tenants were nice enough to leave their solution (various ikea hallway shelves) strewn accross the front walk. It is now missing hard ware and pieces but we shall see if I can scavenge it.

All for now, Pictures later

Ruth

About Ruth

I love to paint and spend time outdoors. I'm currently working on getting an older sailboat back into running order with my grandfather, studying part-time and working full-time. I am also a member of a local kettlebell team and may be competing in my first event in October.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

