//
you're reading...
Health, My life

Thrombosis

Shortly after settling into our new apartment I had severe back and chest pain. Thought is was just strain for moving our three bedroom townhouse into a tiny apartment (which is still rather overcrowded but more on that later). A few weeks later while shopping with my sister I noticed it was getting hard to breath (ie. losing my breath going DOWN stairs). Anyway next morning I woke up to alot of pain in my left arm, swelling and a lovely purple colour. Aparently I have had blood clots in my arm (a very large one at the moment) and my lungs. Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Emboli are the official names, things that young people are not supposed to get! I have never smoked but the current explanation (as we cant run tests till later) is that my birth control contributed to a genetic predisposition to clotting. I am finally just starting to readjust to the new medication, and am never taking hormonal birth control again. As a student I am greatful for Canada’s health care system, there is no way I would have been able to afford the multiple doctors, ER and clinic visits required for all the tests to insure my safety. I am so lucky, shaken up and still really nervous. As more tests and blood work is left to be done, to rule out the dreaded C word completely, I am greatful for all the support I have received from the University community and look forward to an uneventful summer!

All for now

About Ruth

I love to paint and spend time outdoors. I'm currently working on getting an older sailboat back into running order with my grandfather, studying part-time and working full-time. I am also a member of a local kettlebell team and may be competing in my first event in October.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

