//
you're reading...
Dreaming, My life, Travel

Reflecting on Life

At the moment I’m in the process of tying up loose ends of my masters applications and watching snow slowly accumulate on my balcony. I love learning, I’m the biggest nerd, and my number one reason for wanting to travel so much it to learn about other people and how they live their lives. But the process of thinking about where you want to go in life and having to write it down on paper to convince others that you belong with them at their school has seriously made me contemplate where I am in my life at this moment. I acknowledge that at 22, how much of my life has gone by for me to be at some specific place in it when so much of it is ahead of me but at the moment I feel like I’m living in some kind of idealized life that soceity has dictated that doesn’t suit me at all. Where is the adventure? Where is the new experiences? Where is that spark?

This is why I chose two very different programs to apply to, why I’m looking to study in an unconventional environment and why I want to be out there living my life instead of trapped in this tiny apartment with three cats, my boyfriend of five years and an annoying roommate who cant stop talking about China. One thing I have learned, I am no longer interested in spending a long time in China.

While I may or may not be in the same place in two years, lets hope this starts some change in my life, get my mojo back. OH NO she lost her MOJO… he he, I couldn’t resist the Austin Powers reference. More me time, more time for my art, my photography and most importantly for the outdoors, well, maybe once the snow melts. Gotta love Canada.

Ruth

About Ruth

I love to paint and spend time outdoors. I'm currently working on getting an older sailboat back into running order with my grandfather, studying part-time and working full-time. I am also a member of a local kettlebell team and may be competing in my first event in October.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

