//
you're reading...
Travel

Montreal

I took a short trip to Montreal not that long ago to enjoy the city and just wander. We took the train down and rented a small apartment just outside of downtown on airbnb. The train ride was quick, painless and had great wifi service. I was able to get ALOT of work done.

I had never used airbnb before and was a bit apprehensive, but thought it might be a good way to see the city and not break the bank on a hotel. If your not familiar with it, airbnb is a rental service that allows you to rent out extra space in your home to travelling guests. You can rent guest rooms, full apartments and even boats in some places. We were able to rent a full one bedroom apartment, with kitchen and everything, that helped us save on food and dreaded vacation weight gain.

The purpose of the trip was really to go to the Laurier Gordon Ramsay. It was a beautiful rotisserie with great food and simple decor. Expensive but worth the trip, since the next day the announced the end of their partnership with Gordon Ramsay. The soups, salmon and bread pudding were all amazing, but the mocha cake left something to be desired. It was dry and way too sugary for my taste. Otherwise it was a great, did I say expensive?, night out.

We spent the rest of our time in Montreal wondering down St. Laurent and Avenue du Parc. I missed out on going to Mont-Royal Park, maybe next time…

It was the perfect, quiet getaway I needed in the middle of the semester and I’m super glad we went!

About Ruth

I love to paint and spend time outdoors. I'm currently working on getting an older sailboat back into running order with my grandfather, studying part-time and working full-time. I am also a member of a local kettlebell team and may be competing in my first event in October.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

